The MENTOR Network

In the News

The MENTOR Network Announces 2017 Ripple of Hope Recipients

The MENTOR Network is proud to announce our 13th Annual Ripple of Hope Award recipients. The winners were selected from an exceptional group of nominees and represent the very best among us. They were selected for this award because their dedication to the individuals we serve has led to positive change and created a legacy for others to follow.

“This year’s award recipients create ripples of hope each day and inspire all of us with their compassion, selflessness and commitment to improving the lives of others,” said Bruce Nardella, President and Chief Executive Officer of The MENTOR Network. “Our mission would not be possible without their dedication and the dedication of those throughout The MENTOR Network whom they represent.”

In 2005, The MENTOR Network established the Ripple of Hope Awards to recognize The Network’s most outstanding employees, Mentors and independent contractors whose passion, energy and skill have created a positive impact in the lives of others. Whether they work in direct care, operations or supporting business roles, these outstanding employees and service providers create a “ripple of hope,” setting an example of compassion and caring for others to follow.

The title of the award is inspired by the words of the late U.S. Senator Robert F. Kennedy:

“Each time a man stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring those ripples build a current which can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.”

2017 Ripple of Hope Award Recipients

Amy Aguirre, Program Coordinator, REM Minnesota
Bobbi Corcoran, Program Coordinator, REM Wisconsin
Immacula David, Registered Nurse, Revel Adult Day Health, Massachusetts
Anwar and Melvina El-Amin, Mentors, Alabama MENTOR
Jessica Embry, Program Director, NeuroRestorative, Kentucky
Jesus Ocampo, Activity Coordinator, CareMeridian, California
William Painter, Sr. Director, Clinical Practice, Child and Family Services Center of Excellence
Lou Perkins, Direct Support Professional, REM West Virginia
Angela Shultz, Mentor, REM Iowa

The winners will be honored during a special ceremony on November 15, 2017 in Boston, Massachusetts.