The MENTOR Network

In the News

Five Network Employees Receive ANCOR’s 2018 Direct Support Professional Awards

The MENTOR Network’s 2018 ANCOR DSP of the Year Winners: Lou Perkins (left), Robert Ruskowski and Lucy Garadwey (center), and Marty Shaw (second from right). Also pictured: Dwight Robson, Chief Public Strategy and Marketing Officer (right), and guests.

The MENTOR Network is proud to announce that the American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) has chosen five Network employees for its 2018 Direct Support Professional Awards – the most winners The Network has had. Four Network employees were selected as Direct Support Professional of the Year for their respective states, and a fifth employee received ANCOR’s inaugural Relationships Award.

Each year ANCOR, the national association representing providers of community-based services to individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, selects a Direct Support Professional (DSP) from each state to be recognized as DSP of the Year for their outstanding contributions to the people they serve. This year, ANCOR also honored winners of a new set of awards for excellence in one of the following areas: Advocacy, Relationships, Leadership, Innovation and Tenets of the National Association of Direct Support Professionals (NADSP).

ANCOR 2018 State Direct Support Professional of the Year Award Winners

Lucy Garadwey, Lead Direct Support Professional, MENTOR Oregon
Lou Perkins, Direct Support Professional, REM West Virginia
Robert Ruskowski, Program Supervisor, Arizona MENTOR
Marty Shaw, Direct Support Professional, REM North Dakota

ANCOR 2018 Relationships Award Winner

Janet Johnson, Illinois MENTOR

“I am so proud of each of these winners and all of this year’s nominees,” said Bruce Nardella, President and CEO of The MENTOR Network. “These employees embody The Network’s commitment to helping the individuals we serve live lives of promise and opportunity in their communities. Their dedication enables us to provide the highest level of service to individuals with disabilities and other challenges. Congratulations to each of the winners, and thank you for all you do to help those we support live life to the fullest.”

Nominees for the Direct Support Professional of the Year Award are judged on their success in helping people with disabilities build social networks and engage in substantive community participation and for advocating for the people they serve. This year, 22 other Network employees were nominated by their colleagues for the award for their states.

ANCOR 2018 Direct Support Professional of the Year Award Nominees

Linda Amador, California MENTOR
Brady Carlberg, REM Minnesota
Belinda Carter, REM Iowa
Rebecca Dalton, REM West Virginia
Deb Elam, REM Wisconsin
Audrina Farr, REM Nevada
Margaret Fink, REM Iowa
Mary Glover, REM Minnesota
Michelle Hayes, Indiana MENTOR
LanaRae Hommerding, REM North Dakota
Paula Hottinger, REM Ohio
Terreya Hymon, REM Nevada
Santana Jackson, Georgia MENTOR
Jennifer Maddix, REM Wisconsin
Debra Mancini, Massachusetts MENTOR
Stephanie Milota, REM Minnesota
Marlynn Parker, REM Iowa
Raymond Pryor, Florida MENTOR
Phileus Rosenie, Florida MENTOR
Barbara Smith, Indiana MENTOR
Alexis Tindall, Florida MENTOR
Timothy Webb, Indiana MENTOR